Jump to solution

High Latency Warzone

Dip3hittyo
Grasshopper

I play warzone and for the past few months I have noticed high latency. When I started playing a year ago I would consistently get between 40 - 60ms. but for the past while I get 80+ all the time. Just wondering if anyone else has seen this and how they fixed this issue? I play on PC as well. 

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Jump to solution

-- I live in Red Deer, Alberta. That's halfway between Sh...

mdk
Legendary Grand Master

@Dip3hittyo -- I live in Red Deer, Alberta.

That's halfway between Shaw's "backbone" connections in Calgary (with direct connections to Vancouver, due south to USA, Edmonton, and Winnipeg) and in Edmonton (with direct connections to Vancouver, Calgary, and Winnipeg). 

I don't know if there is a "tap" on that Calgary-Edmonton line at Red Deer.

So, your Internet traffic crosses into the USA either on the Vancouver-to-Seattle link, or the Calgary-to-USA link, or the Winnipeg-to-USA link, and then takes more "hops" to the game-server (Northern California? Chicagoland?).

If you have the IP-address of the game-server, open a Windows command-line prompt, via the 'CMD' utility, and enter the command:

TRACERT www.xxx.yyy.zzz

to see where your traffic is "routed", and what delays there are on each "hop". Post the results here.

View solution in original post

13 Replies
Jump to solution

-- do you live in a major city (Vancouver? Calgary? Edmon...

mdk
Legendary Grand Master

@Dip3hittyo -- do you live in a major city (Vancouver? Calgary? Edmonton?) where the Shaw "backbone" is "nearby", or do you live in a small town, where your Internet traffic has to take a few "hops", e.g., Prince Albert to Saskatoon to Edmonton, before hitting that "backbone" ?

Your "lag" depends on each "hop" that connects your computer to a game-server in a different country, and the total end-to-end cumulative "lag", over the "shared" (Telus or Shaw or Bell) backbone network.