Poor performance, spotty connection

Pender_Island
Grasshopper

background: Being a recent resident I am stuck with a connection that is maximum 5 mbps. That's download. Upload it is, apparently 1 mbps. This makes backing up files online almost completely useless.

The connection breaks. Very frequently. 

The speed of the connection -- especially for 'newcomers' is limited as noted above. Longer term residents get a whole 30 mbs (I probably pay the same monthly rate as well).  Shaw staff have no word on when, or if, performance will be brought up to a 2001 level, let alone 2020. 30 mbps is a joke today. 5 mbps is simply a fraud.

Oh if only it were 5 mbps. 

Performance is worse than ever and unacceptable. Downloads = 0.4 mbps / uploads 0.2 mbps via shaw speed test while connecting to Telus' was actually an 'improvement' at (I kid not) 1.19 mbps with uploads roaring along at 0.41 mbps.

Shaw. You must improve service to the island. If you will not do so at least have the decency to inform your customers -- especially your newer ones -- that Shaw cannot and/or will not provide service. At least that would be honest.

Labels (1)
10 Replies

first how are you testing these speeds? wifi or wired, sp...

dragonstone634
Grasshopper

first how are you testing these speeds? wifi or wired, speedtest, fast.com or other. what server are the speedtest connected to?

0 Kudos

-- I presume that both the Shaw and the Telus networks ru...

mdk
Legendary Grand Master

@Pender_Island -- I presume that both the Shaw and the Telus networks run from Vancouver Island to Salt Spring Island and then to your (North? South?) Pender Island location.

> Upload is 1 mbps

> Longer term residents get 30 mbps (download)

Those are very-low numbers, suggesting a very-congested network.

Maybe, for your V0N 2M2 Postal Code, look at XPLORERNET Internet services, instead of the "wires" used by TELUS and Shaw to reach you.