>  I noticed that the cable running from the modem to the...

mdk
Legendary Grand Master

>  I noticed that the cable running from the modem to the router was a CAT-5 cable and I still received the higher speeds with the first router. 

A "CAT-5" cable is "certified" to work at 100 Mbits/second, but, in practice, it may work faster, e.g., 200 Mbits/second, as you have observed.

> So could it have something to do with my CAT-5e wiring throughout the house?

I'm not an electronics engineer, but I suspect that the length of the cable, and the co-requisite "power" to push the electrical signals a longer distance, will affect the performance of the data-transfer.  Also, while a fiber-optic cable transmits at the speed of light, I wonder how much slower that signals will propagate through copper wires?

that is a possibility depending when the wiring was put i...

shaw-tony

@gloo that is a possibility depending when the wiring was put in. Checking your account, I see that there is a second IP enabled for when the Hitron is bridged, 2 routers can be plugged into the modem (I previously had a similar setup). Are you plugging in your C2600 to the DIR-655? If so, that generally causes an IP mismatch that can impact your speeds. 

0 Kudos

Yes there are 2 IP addresses enabled. The Hitron is conne...

gloo
Grasshopper

Yes there are 2 IP addresses enabled.

The Hitron is connected to the DIR-655, which is connected to the C2600 by a CAT5E cable.  The C2600 is set up as an access point. 

0 Kudos

The length of the cable is less than 100m.

gloo
Grasshopper

The length of the cable is less than 100m.

0 Kudos

ah, the correct setup should be the C2600 and DIR-655 con...

shaw-tony

@gloo ah, the correct setup should be the C2600 and DIR-655 connecting to the Hitron separately. The daisy chain setup will cause an IP-mismatch issue.

DIR-655

|

Hitron 

|

C2600

I am using the C2600 as an access point and adjusted the...

gloo
Grasshopper