Uploading attachments in Shaw webmail

boardie
Grasshopper
I'm a member of a condo board, and use a Shaw email account to send stuff, via "Bcc", to a list of condo owners and residents. I've been doing this for a while. Yesterday I couldn't get webmail to accept uploads of documents. I tried both "Firefox" and "Brave" (which is based on Firefox). After a lot of attempts yesterday, changing things here and there, I finally figured out this morning that the upload works for PDF's but not for the same data as a Word .DOC or .DOCX . This is new - I've done .DOC in the past. I'm a programmer, so my thoughts are that this could be some new security measure put in place in the last month or so. It could be in my browsers, in the Shaw webmail client (I use the basic one), or in something in Shaw's email servers. Anyone got any clues as to what is going on?
Labels (1)
13 Replies

I haven't heard of any reports of this issue. I just test...

shaw-tony

@boardie I haven't heard of any reports of this issue. I just tested this using my personal @Shaw email account with a Microsoft Word DOC and DOCX file with no issues. It may be your browser (extensions) or signature format that is causing the issue. When you try to upload the file, it just doesn't attach? I am using Google Chrome in Advanced (Ajax) mode. Can you swap modes and remove any signatures to see if the file will attach?

0 Kudos

> Yesterday I couldn't get webmail to accept uploads of d...

mdk
Legendary Grand Master

> Yesterday I couldn't get webmail to accept uploads of documents.

What error-message did you get?  Did it "send" properly?  Did the recipient (even yourself) not "see" the attachment?

Your E-mail has a "quota" (listed near the bottom of the Shaw WebMail page) of disk-space. Are you near that limit?

0 Kudos

Thanks for the reply. I went to try out the AJAX mode, an...

boardie
Grasshopper

Thanks for the reply.