What (if any) ports are blocked on Shaw Residential service?

paul_fielding
Grasshopper

I've been using Shaw Business internet service for many years, due to having non-typical internet needs and the desire to do various server hosting.  In recent times those needs have both reduced some, combined with internet connections now being much faster, and with residential pricing generally consistently less than business pricing, I'm considering switching to residential service.

However, while I don't rely on incoming ports as much as I used to, I still like to have some flexibility.  Anyone know what ports are currently blocked on residential service?  I'm guessing port 25, which i can live with.  But are there any others currently blocked I should know about?

regards,

Paul

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies

From what I am aware the ports on the modem should not be...

shaw-tony

@paul_fielding From what I am aware the ports on the modem should not be blocked. There are advanced settings available to open/close ports in the modem UI. Alternatively, you can bridge the modem and run your own router to fully control the ports.

0 Kudos

Hi Tony,  i do indeed have the modem bridged to my own ro...

paul_fielding
Grasshopper

Hi Tony,  i do indeed have the modem bridged to my own router.  That being said, I know that it used to be that port 25 was blocked past the modem.  If that’s no longer the case and there aren’t any ports blocked then that’s fabulous, I just wanted to try to be sure prior to closing my 12+ yo business account and replacing it with a residential one... 🙂

regards,

Paul

0 Kudos

since you are running a business and server hosting, it i...

shaw-tony