-- I never have worked for Shaw, and I never have been em...

mdk
Legendary Grand Master

@Hesscham -- I never have worked for Shaw, and I never have been employed by Shaw.

I envision a technician as one who has some certification in a trade, such as "A+" for electronic technology. That's not me. Give me a computer's motherboard with a blown capacitor, AT YOUR OWN RISK -- I don't have the correct tools & knowledge  & fine-motor-skills to successfully replace it.

However, I am a computerphile with university-taught skills in multiple programming languages and operating systems, and self-taught knowledge and experience in computer hardware and computer networking, and competence in several application software packages, e.g., Microsoft Office. Also, I have been a newsletter editor & contributor.

Note that the "8 points" I noted, above, apply to any cable-modem, especially in the last 2 years, when there have been many people on this discussion forum who have had networking issues -- well before this week's announcement by Shaw of a system-wide issue.

0 Kudos

participates quite regularly and has certainly been very...

rickatk
Master

@Hesscham wrote:

@mdk  do you work for Shaw or something? Are you a technician? 

@mdk participates quite regularly and has certainly been very helpful to me and others. I too have noticed the freezing and dropped audio which was particularly bad on CNN today. I finally hard rebooted my Gateway. That seems to clear reception and audio for the time being. 

I have been busy with work and the BC election so not much spare time for TV. It was my wife who alerted me to the freezing and audio drops over the past week. I will keep an eye on things and report back. 

0 Kudos

Good to know! You are very knowledgeable and I thank you...

Hesscham
Grasshopper