[Answered] Can you stream locally or does it always count against your monthly allowance?

star099
Grasshopper

I'm new to streaming, but when I tried out streaming videos from my pc to my tablet I used up a whole GB in 10 minutes. So if that counts against my monthly limit it wouldn't last long. If I had a smart tv I imagine it would be the same issue. 

So can you actually stream locally? And how would you know for sure it isn't using up your actual internet allowance?

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
8 Replies

Re: Can you stream locally or does it always count against your monthly allowance?

shaw-tony

Hey star099,

Generally, if you stream locally through your router and it should not count towards your monthly bandwidth. You can always check to see your bandwidth use through your MyShaw account here. If data bandwidth is important to you, we do have several plans with unlimited bandwidth. Let me know if you have any other questions!

Cheers,

Tony | Community Mod.

0 Kudos

Re: Can you stream locally or does it always count against your monthly allowance?

star099
Grasshopper

Thanks. It seems the information about my account is a bit behind though (2 days right now) so it's going to take a bit of work to test it. I figure I'll use my bandwidth sparingly until it updates and then go hog wild with the streaming. That way by the next time it updates if I have a huge increase it would mean it counted against the limit.

I'm sure everything will work out, I just didn't want to go into it blind and run into trouble with my bandwidth. 

0 Kudos

Not applicable

If you're running a server on a local machine (maybe through a program like Sony's Music Center for example), the streaming happens locally and never leaves your network save for the usual pings the program makes while it's connected to the network (update checks, etc.).