Strange email Messages

biglar
Grasshopper

Strange email messages. I've been receiving these strange email messages in my junk box on my iphone 6s. The sender is usually someone I know who I have recently sent or recieved but the senders names are usually changed by about 3 to 6 letters. The message wants me to open a file that's attached, WHICH I NEVER DO! All these type of messages come via my @shaw.ca email. They also only appear only on my iPhone 6s in the junk folder, never on my desktop windows email.

Now is this a shaw email problem, apple iPhone problem, or telus which is my cellular provider? Is there anything I can do about it?

Labels (1)
8 Replies

Re: Strange email Messages

mrme
Grasshopper

I've started receiving these as well through my @shaw email address that I have been using for many, many years.  Nothing has changed on my end, so I was very surprised when these started up a few months ago.  Glad to hear that I'm not the only one with this problem.

Not applicable
I and several colleagues have also been having this problem for some time. The e-mails initially look like from someone in my e-mail phone book but a letter or two in the person's name is changed. I have traced back the IP addresses in the headers and these have all been spoofed apparently using a VPN. The messages all contain a link to some sort of offer, which I avoid.
Is Shaw on this? Has anyone notified them?

Not applicable